

Global Competition Agency Economists Roundtable

Monday, February 22, 2016

U.S. Department of Justice Liberty Square Building Room 9429—9th floor 450 5th Street, NW Washington, DC 20001

8:40-9:00 Welcoming remarks

Aviv Nevo (Northwestern University)

William J. Baer, Assistant Attorney General, DOJ

Edith Ramirez, Chairwoman, FTC

9:00-10:30 Frontiers of Antitrust Economics: Vertical Agreements

Moderator: **Aviv Nevo** (Northwestern University)

Discussion leaders:

Massimo Motta (EC)

Lilla Csorgo (New Zealand Commerce Commission)

Assaf Eilat (Israel Antitrust Authority)

10:30-11:00 Coffee break and informal discussion

11:00-12:30 Antitrust in Telecommunications Markets

Moderator: Bill Rogerson (Northwestern University)

Discussion leaders:

Bob Majure (DOJ)

Lars Sørgard (Norwegian Competition Authority)

12:30-1:30 Lunch and Agency Overviews

Assaf Eilat (Israel Antitrust Authority)

Liberty Mncube (Competition Commission of South Africa) **Simone Cuiabano** (Brazil Council for Economic Defence)

1:30-3:00 Antitrust in Healthcare Markets

Moderator: **Leemore Dafny** (Northwestern University)

Discussion leaders:

Kate Collyer (UK) **Ginger Jin** (FTC)

3:00-3:30 Coffee break and informal discussion

3:30-5:00 Empirical Methods in Antitrust

Moderator: Aviv Nevo (Northwestern University)

Panelists: **John Asker** (UCLA)

Cory S. Capps (Bates White) **Fiona Scott-Morton** (Yale)

Reception and Dinner at Poste Brasserie—North East Room 555 8th Street, NW

Confirmed Participants (as of 3/2/2016):

- 1. **John Asker**, University of California, Los Angeles
- 2. **William J. Baer**, Assistant Attorney General, Antitrust Division, U.S. Department of Justice
- 3. **Cory S. Capps**, Bates White Economic Consulting
- 4. Kate Collyer, Competition and Markets Authority, United Kingdom
- 5. **Lilla Csorgo**, New Zealand Commerce Commission
- 6. **Simone Cuiabano**, Brazil Council for Economic Defence (CADE)
- 7. **Leemore S. Dafny**, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
- 8. **Assaf Eilat**, Israel Antitrust Authority
- 9. Arvid Fredenberg, Swedish Competition Authority
- 10. Patrick Hughes, Competition Bureau of Canada
- 11. Ginger Jin, Federal Trade Commisssion
- 12. **Bob Majure**, U.S. Department of Justice
- 13. Liberty Mncube, Competition Commission of South Africa
- 14. **Massimo Motta**, European Commission-DG Competition
- 15. Aviv Nevo, Department of Economics, Northwestern University
- 16. Alison Oldale, U.S. Federal Trade Commission
- 17. Gastón Palmucci, National Economic Prosecutor, Chile
- 18. Edith Ramirez, Commissioner, U.S. Federal Trade Commission
- 19. William Rogerson, Department of Economics, Northwestern University
- 20. Nancy Rose, U.S. Department of Justice
- 21. Lars Sørgard, Norwegian Competition Authority
- 22. Fiona Scott Morton, Yale School of Management
- 23. **Matthew L. Spitzer**, Searle Center on Law, Regulation, and Economic Growth, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law